Tags

,

Setting: The Berger’s Shop

Characters: Chris, my other talented roommate

Plot: Remember? Just moved, no furniture? No dining room table, either. I had been pinteresting and blog hunting (always dangerous) and it seemed to me that it would be easy enough to just build one. Problem. I have pretty limited wood working skills. SO I enlisted Chris’s help. We decided on using a plan from Ana White’s blog. (She’s a stay at home mom that builds furniture in Alaska. Role model.) Then we spent like 45 minutes in the lumber aisle of Home Depot picking out wood with the coolest grain.

Chris in the shop

Chris in the shop

We brought our supplies back to the shop, got to work, and had a table in an hour and a half. The most time consuming part came later: painting, staining, and polyurethane. I thought white for the apron would be pretty “farmhouse”, and we stained the top to match our awesome wood ceilings. I love it. The whole thing probably cost $80 or less – paint and all. Can’t really beat that for a beautiful farmhouse table. One step closer to my hippie farm commune dreams.

Painting and such.

Painting and such.

The finished product. Chairs were $6 each from the thrift store and just needed a coat of paint. Still on the hunt for some more!

The finished product. Chairs were $6 each from the thrift store and just needed a coat of paint. Still on the hunt for some more!

-H

